Toll Free - U.S.& Canada:  1-800-791-9386   Hong Kong:  800-930-623   Australia:  1-800-779-835   Singapore:  800-130-1652  
Free online Chinese learning support
  • Follow Us in "WeChat"
    by Scanning
United Kingdom:  0-800-086-8969   Switzerland:  0-800-563-178   Germany:  0-800-180-0341   Israel:  1-809-467-206  
France:  0-805-080-689   Italy:  800-596-375   Spain:  900-838-906   New Zealand:  0-800-002-128  
South Africa:  0-800-981-886                    

Mandarin Language

Mar. 24, 2015
Standard Mandarin language – also known as standard Chinese, standard Mandarin language or standard spoken Chinese – is the official language of the People’s Republic of China.
“The phonology of standard Mandarin language is based on the Beijing dialect, one of Mandarin’s most popular dialects, which is part of a large and very diverse group of Chinese dialects spoken across northern and southwestern China.” The vocabulary is largely drawn from this group of dialects. The grammar of standard Mandarin language is based on the body of modern literary works written in Vernacular Chinese, which in practice follows the same tradition of the Mandarin language group of dialects with some notable exceptions. As a result, standard Mandarin language itself is usually just called “Mandarin” in non-academic, everyday usage. However, linguists use “Mandarin” to refer to the entire group of dialects. We will adhere to this convention for the remainder of this article.
Standard Mandarin language is officially known in the People’s Republic of China as Pǔtōnghuà (Simplified Chinese: 普通话; Traditional Chinese: 普通話, literally “common speech”), in the Republic of China (Taiwan) as Guóyǔ (Traditional Chinese: 國語; Simplified Chinese: 国语, literally “national language”), and in Malaysia and Singapore as Huáyǔ (Traditional Chinese: 華語; Simplified Chinese: 华语, literally “Chinese (in a cultural sense) language”). All three terms are used interchangeably in Chinese communities around the world.

Got questions? Take a free 1-to-1 lesson with one of our professional teachers by signing up below:
Name:  E-mail: 
Country:  Tel: 

Write a comment

Your Name: 
Your Email:  Your email address will not be published.
Verification Code:  Verification Code Unclear? Try another one
Email This Article
Recipients' email addresses:
(separate recipients with comma)
Your name:
Your e-mail address (optional):
Your message (optional):
Verification Code:

Sign up for a free trial now!
Get more information about our Chinese lessons through live chat
Get a FREE live 1-to-1 lesson and FREE e-books. Complete the form below:
Get 11 FREE Mandarin E-books